Skip to content ↓


Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award is an international children's literary award established by the Swedish government in 2002 to honour the Swedish children's author Astrid Lindgren. The prize is five million SEK, making it the richest award in children's literature and one of the richest literary prizes in the world.

The Lindgren Award annually recognises one or more living people and institutions - people for their career contributions and institutions for their long-term work. Specifically they should be "authors, illustrators, storytellers and promoters of reading" whose "work is of the highest quality, and in the spirit of Astrid Lindgren." The object of the award is to increase interest in children's and young people's literature, and to promote children's rights to culture on a global level.


2003: Maurice Sendak, United States

2003: Christine Nöstlinger, Austria

2004: Lygia Bojunga Nunes, Brazil

2005: Philip Pullman, United Kingdom

2005: Ryōji Arai, Japan

2006: Katherine Paterson, United States

2007: Banco del Libro, Venezuela

2008: Sonya Hartnett, Australia

2009: Tamer Institute for Community Education, Palestine

2010: Kitty Crowther, Belgium

2011: Shaun Tan, Australia

2012: Guus Kuijer, Netherlands

2013: Isol, Argentina

2014: Barbro Lindgren, Sweden

2015: Project for the Study of Alternative Education in South Africa

2016: Meg Rosoff, United States/United Kingdom

2017: Wolf Erlbruch, Germany

2018: Jacqueline Woodson, United States

2019: Bart Moeyaert, Belgium

2020: Baek Hee-Na, South Korea

2021: Jean-Claude Mourlevat [fr], France

2022: Eva Lindström, Sweden