Skip to content ↓


Susan Cooper

Born 23 May 1935

Susan is an English author of children's books. She is best known for The Dark Is Rising, a contemporary fantasy series set in England and Wales, which incorporates British mythology, such as the Arthurian legends, and Welsh folk heroes. For that work, in 2012 she won the lifetime Margaret A. Edwards Award from the American Library Association, recognizing her contribution to writing for teens. In the 1970s two of the five novels - The Grey King and Silver on the Tree.

were named the year's best English-language book with an "authentic Welsh background" by the Welsh Books Council. 


Susan's work in Leaf through a good book

Othe novels by Susan 



The Dark is Rising series


Boggart series


Children's picture books