Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum 

foundation stage
foundation stage

The St Stephen’s Curriculum 


Our Foundation Stage curriculum follows the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Learning and Development Requirements, as set out by the government.

There are seven ‘Areas of Learning’ in the EYFS:

Communication and language development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.

Physical development involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children are also helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.

Personal, social and emotional development involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.

Literacy development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. 

Mathematics involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces, and measures.

Understanding the world involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.

Expressive arts and design involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology.

We teach our EYFS curriculum through thematic units taken from the International Early Years Curriculum (IEYC).


Each term, our Early Years year groups (Saplings, Weavers and Reception) follow a thematic IEYC unit. This gives each class a theme on which to base their teaching and learning. For example, ‘Once Upon a Time’ will link most learning to traditional fairy stories like The Gingerbread Man. Follow the link below to find out more.